Deer Tracks

On a walk in the woods,

 In the early morning mist,

I stopped to rest

Beneath a thin white birch.

 

I heard her approach,

Moving slow to the clearing.

Her hooves touched lightly

Yet solid on frozen ground

 

She stopped at once

Her head held high,

Searching my presence

Statue frozen, staring, still.

 

Her eyes met mine.

I did not move.

There was no sound

Save the song of birds.

 

In that moment,

We seemed connected.

For I felt her courage,

And I knew her power.

 

 Then she turned away,

Her head bent low.

She walked into the woods.

And the moment was gone.

2 Comments

  1. denmother said,

    February 15, 2013 at 1:44 am

    I can picture this encounter. Beautiful.
    Denmother

  2. pjb1943 said,

    February 15, 2013 at 1:53 am

    Have known this momemt many times. We have deer that come to our back yard often.
    Paul


Leave a comment