Angel of Destiny

The moon was big and bright

That first night you came to me.

At first, you gave me such a fright

My first instinct was to flee.

 

You talked in riddles, nothing clear.

I thought you were insane.

Though only words I felt vague fear,

And you did not give your name.

 

I wanted to listen to my inner voice

That told me, “Get out of there”.

But destiny stopped me from that choice

To leave would mean despair.

 

My heart so fast began to beat

As your words sparked sense anew.

Old duties that I dare not cheat

To all others I must be true.

 

Then you gave me something solid

A symbol shining in my dream.

Amongst other visions horrid

This could only reign supreme.

 

So many questions filled my mind

The answers I needed to know.

But you had left me far behind

And I did not hear you go.

 

I was not really hurt or angry

Being farther than when I began.

You were an angel of destiny

And I am sure we’ll meet again.

3 Comments

  1. tedstrutz said,

    February 14, 2013 at 6:31 pm

  2. pjb1943 said,

    February 15, 2013 at 1:50 am

    Just wanted to thank you for your visit to my site today and return the favor. I really liked this poem. It reads like a good rythmic story.
    Best to you,
    Paul

  3. February 18, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Check my post tomorrow…you have been nominated for an award.
    Scott


Leave a Reply

